MODBUS communication

G

garincha

Hi,

I'm a beginner in MODBUS, so please help me.
I have a temperature regulator with MODBUS communication.

For example:

If I want to read holding register, e.g.: 0042 "Value of temperature" from mentioned device, in my application for MODBUS communication which was written in
Microsoft Visual Studio 2005- VC#,
I made the request -byte array: {0x01, 0x03, 0x00, 0x29, 0x00, 0x01, 0x83, 0x01}
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

1.- slave adress (configured in device)
2.- function code(Read Holding Registers)
3.- start adress Hi
4.- start adress Lo
5.- no. of registers Hi
6.- no of registers Lo
7.- error code
8.- exception code

and sent that array to device. Label Rx blinks on the front panel of device, so device received my request, but I don't get any response, Tx doesn't blink!!!

All other parameters like port name, baud rate, parity, data bits, stop bits, ReadTimeout, WriteTimeout and RS485/RS232 converter are O.K.

Plese, could you help me with some advice to get response from device and tell me what I do wrong?
Is my request -byte array O.K.??? (especially the last two bytes 0x83, 0x01- CRC)

Thank you very much.

Best regards!

S
Your CRC is incorrect. The CRC for the message should be 55 C2.

01 03 00 29 00 01 55 C2

Below is the C code to calculate CRC for a message.

/*
Function Name: crc
Purpose: To calculate the 16 bit CRC remainder
Parameters: count, buffer addr.
Returns: remainder
*/
WORD crc(WORD no_bytes,BYTE *buff_addr)
{

WORD bias,inner;
WORD crc_rem=0xffff,mod;

for (bias=0;bias<no_bytes;bias++)
{
crc_rem^=buff_addr[bias];
for (inner=0;inner<8;inner++)
{
mod=crc_rem&0x0001;
crc_rem>>=1;
if (mod)
crc_rem^=0xa001;
}
}
return crc_rem;
}

Syd Deitch
Calta Computer Systems
Calta Computer Systems Limited
Suite 202, 7003 - 5th Street S.E.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada T2H 2G2
Phone - 403-252-5094
Fax - 403-252-5102
email - [email protected]
Web - http://www.calta.com

F

Fred Loveless