Losing Control Signal Over 800 Foot Distance with RS-485

L

Lloydzoo

I'm new to the MODBUS world and am trying to test various installation scenarios for a touchscreen fan speed control system my company is developing. In this case, the system works properly when I run a 2 foot twisted pair length from a cat5 cable. But when I connect an 800 foot spool, I get no control. DC Voltage still reads adequate on the distal end, but apparently the digital signal is getting lost in the mix. Could it be just signal noise from all of the cable being coiled up in a box?

Any insight is much appreciated, Thanks!

S
The title of your post seems contradictory with the body, but here are a couple possible scenarios:

1) Your title (RS485) is a typo and you're really running Modbus/TCP. If so, there's probably a bad spot in your 800ft spool of CAT5 cable.

2) You actually ARE running 485 and you're using a pair or two out of a CAT5 cable. CAT5 cable is not for RS485. It's not shielded, and may not have appropriate capacitance values and so on. At 2-20ft, it will probably work. If you need to run 800ft, get the correct cable for the signal. If you're using CAT5 to try to run RS485, I assume you're probably also not terminating. At short lengths, say under 100 feet or so, my experience has been that you can get away with not terminating, in fact it sometimes works better not to. At 800ft, you need to terminate.

W
Did you put a termination resistor at each end of the cable. The following link may be of assistance:

http://www.maximintegrated.com/en/app-notes/index.mvp/id/763

William (Bill) L. Mostia, Jr. PE
ISA Fellow, SIS-TECH Fellow,
FS Eng. (TUV Rheinland)
SIS-TECH Solutions, LP

"No trees were killed to send this message, but a large number of electrons were terribly inconvenienced." Neil deGrasse Tyson

Any information is provided on a Caveat Emptor basis.